Metadata created at the enterprise level will automatically appear in existing and new workspaces. Workspace administrators who are not also Enterprise Administrators will not be able to edit or delete Enterprise metadata from the workspace.
Navigate to Enterprise settings. Be careful to make sure you are in the settings for the Enterprise of the Workspace—not the Workspace itself.
Click the “Metadata” tab, which is the fourth tab from the left.
Ensure the subtab “Metadata Attributes” is selected.
Scroll down to the section titled “Manage Workspace Settings”.
The checkbox “Allow custom metadata”, when checked, will allow custom metadata for every workspace in the enterprise, and will override any previous Workspace settings.
To look at settings for specific workspaces, expand the menu underneath “Manage Existing Workspaces” by clicking the arrow next to that text. From here, you can allow or disallow custom metadata in specific workspaces. The “reset all” button clears all checkboxes so that no custom metadata is allowed in any workspaces.
To add custom metadata to a Workspace, read the article Creating Custom Metadata.